Fast Five Quiz: How Much Do You Know About Migraines?

Amy Kao, MD; Sumaira Nabi, MBBS; Jasvinder Chawla, MD, MBA


October 19, 2017

The beta version of the third edition of the International Classification of Headache Disorders lists the following types of migraine:

  • Migraine without aura (formerly, common migraine)

  • Migraine with aura (formerly, classic migraine)

  • Chronic migraine

  • Complications of migraine

  • Probable migraine

  • Episodic syndromes that may be associated with migraine

The headache previously described as "classic migraine" is now known as "migraine with aura," and the headache that was described as "common migraine" is now termed "migraine without aura." Migraines without aura are the most common, accounting for more than 80% of all migraines.

For more on the classification of migraine, read here.


Comments on Medscape are moderated and should be professional in tone and on topic. You must declare any conflicts of interest related to your comments and responses. Please see our Commenting Guide for further information. We reserve the right to remove posts at our sole discretion.