Fast Five Quiz: How Much Do You Know About Chronic Fatigue Syndrome?

Michael Stuart Bronze, MD


December 04, 2015

According to the CDC, the diagnosis of CFS is based on the patient (1) having severe chronic fatigue of at least 6 months' duration, with other known medical conditions excluded by clinical diagnosis, and (2) concurrently having four or more of the following symptoms:

  • Substantial impairment in short-term memory or concentration

  • Sore throat

  • Tender lymph nodes

  • Muscle pain

  • Multijoint pain without swelling or redness

  • Headaches of a new type, pattern or severity

  • Unrefreshing sleep

  • Postexertional malaise lasting more than 24 hours

The symptoms must have persisted or recurred during 6 or more consecutive months of illness and must not have predated the fatigue.

For more on the diagnostic criteria for CFS, read here.