Fast Five Quiz: Are You Familiar With Urinary Tract Infections in Males?

Bradley Schwartz, DO


May 02, 2016

Chronic prostatitis has been subdivided by the National Institutes of Health into the following categories:

  • Category I: Acute bacterial prostatitis (ABP) which is associated with severe prostatitis symptoms, systemic infection, and acute bacterial UTI.

  • Category II: Chronic bacterial prostatitis

  • Category III: Chronic abacterial prostatitis. Category IIIA is chronic, inflammatory abacterial prostatitis, and category IIIB is chronic, noninflammatory abacterial prostatitis, also known as chronic pelvic pain or prostatodynia.

  • Category IV: Asymptomatic, inflammatory prostatitis

For more on the presentation of prostatitis, read here.


Comments on Medscape are moderated and should be professional in tone and on topic. You must declare any conflicts of interest related to your comments and responses. Please see our Commenting Guide for further information. We reserve the right to remove posts at our sole discretion.