Fast Five Quiz: Can You Properly Address Hip Fractures?

James W. Pritchett, MD


May 20, 2016

The fractures are divided into four groups according to the degree of displacement and fracture fragments; this classification provides guidance on treatment options and surgical implants.

  • Garden type I: Incomplete fracture with valgus impaction

  • Garden type II: Complete fracture without displacement

  • Garden type III: Complete fracture with partial displacement of the fracture fragments

  • Garden type IV: Complete fracture with total displacement, allowing the femoral head to rotate back to an anatomic position

This classification can be further simplified into nondisplaced Garden I and II, or displaced Garden III and IV fractures.

For more on the classification of femoral neck fractures, read here.


Comments on Medscape are moderated and should be professional in tone and on topic. You must declare any conflicts of interest related to your comments and responses. Please see our Commenting Guide for further information. We reserve the right to remove posts at our sole discretion.
Post as: