Fast Five Quiz: Pathogenesis and Presentation of Rosacea

William D. James, MD


July 24, 2019

Figure 1. Female patient with rosacea

The National Rosacea Society pulled together a group of experts that agreed on the characteristics of four different subtypes of rosacea:

  • Erythematotelangiectatic

  • Papulopustular

  • Phymatous

  • Ocular

Specific clinical signs and symptoms define each subtype, but importantly, subtypes can occur simultaneously, and one subtype can progress to a different subtype.

For an overview of rosacea, go here.


Comments on Medscape are moderated and should be professional in tone and on topic. You must declare any conflicts of interest related to your comments and responses. Please see our Commenting Guide for further information. We reserve the right to remove posts at our sole discretion.