Fast Five Quiz: Managing Progression of Relapsing-Remitting Multiple Sclerosis

Christopher Luzzio, MD


March 08, 2021

Multiple sclerosis (MS) is an immune-mediated inflammatory disease that attacks myelinated axons in the central nervous system (CNS) and often causes significant physical disability over time. The hallmark of MS is symptomatic episodes "separated in time and space," which are heralded by symptoms that reflect CNS involvement.

MS is divided into four categories, principally on the basis of clinical criteria that include the frequency of clinical relapses, time to disease progression, and lesion development on MRI:

  • relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS) (approximately 85% of MS cases)

  • secondary progressive MS (SPMS)

  • primary progressive MS (PPMS)

  • progressive-relapsing MS (PRMS)

Most patients with RRMS will eventually develop SPMS, with variable rates of progression.

Treatment of MS is centered around immunomodulatory therapy for the underlying immune disorder, coupled with therapies to relieve or modify symptoms. With the advent of newer disease-modifying therapies (DMTs), treatment goals are to reduce relapse frequency and MRI disease activity, and ultimately limit progression of disability.

Do you know how to manage RRMS? Test your knowledge with this quick quiz.


Comments on Medscape are moderated and should be professional in tone and on topic. You must declare any conflicts of interest related to your comments and responses. Please see our Commenting Guide for further information. We reserve the right to remove posts at our sole discretion.
Post as: