Fast Five Quiz: Narcissistic Personality Disorder Key Aspects

Stephen Soreff, MD


June 24, 2022

According to the DSM-5, a diagnosis of NPD requires five of the following nine criteria:

  • A belief that they are unique or special and can only associate with and be understood by others like them, such as people or institutions with high status that are special

  • A grandiose sense of self-importance

  • A lack of empathy

  • A preoccupation with fantasies of unlimited beauty, brilliance, power, success, or ideal love

  • A sense of entitlement

  • A need for excessive admiration

  • Interpersonally exploitative behavior

  • Envy of others or a belief that others envy them

  • Arrogant and haughty attitudes or behaviors

Persistent feelings of emptiness, difficulty controlling anger, and frantic efforts to avoid real or imagined abandonment are among the criteria for borderline personality disorder, which is included in the differential diagnosis for NPD.

Learn more about the presentation of NPD.


Comments on Medscape are moderated and should be professional in tone and on topic. You must declare any conflicts of interest related to your comments and responses. Please see our Commenting Guide for further information. We reserve the right to remove posts at our sole discretion.