Fast Five Quiz: Narcolepsy

Heidi Moawad, MD


February 06, 2023

Narcolepsy is categorized by the DSM-5 with five subtypes:

  • Narcolepsy without cataplexy but with hypocretin deficiency

  • Narcolepsy with cataplexy but without hypocretin deficiency

  • Autosomal dominant cerebellar ataxia, deafness, and narcolepsy

  • Autosomal dominant narcolepsy, obesity, and type 2 diabetes

  • Narcolepsy secondary to another medical condition

The condition may also be categorized as mild, moderate, or severe on the basis of cataplexy frequency, urge to nap, and nocturnal sleep disturbance.

Learn more about the background of narcolepsy.


Comments on Medscape are moderated and should be professional in tone and on topic. You must declare any conflicts of interest related to your comments and responses. Please see our Commenting Guide for further information. We reserve the right to remove posts at our sole discretion.